Orest in Mossul

Staging: Milo Rau & Ensemble

After: Aischylos

Milo Rau, the artistic director of the NTGent, had the idea of staging a present-day version of Aeschylus’ Oresteia while he was conducting research for his play Empire in 2016 in northern Iraq on the frontline facing ISIS. “It is as if you were in a television scene and in a classical epic at the same time”, as Rau puts it. How is it possible to stop the never-ending chain of violence in which the parties of the Syrian-Iraqi civil war and their Western allies find themselves? In the first two parts of Aeschylus’ Oresteia there appears to be no way out. The only one who can stop this violence is Athena: she calms down the goddesses of vengeance by allotting them a place in society. Where hate has not helped, the loving embrace now succeeds. 
Milo Rau retains the ancient grandeur of the tragedy, but links it to present-day issues, with an international ensemble. What can the Oresteia mean today, rehearsed and staged in Western Europe and in Mosul? Orestes in Mosul by Milo Rau will be the first NTGent production to be presented at the Schauspielhaus Zürich, in what we hope will be a long-term collaboration between our two theatres.

With Duraid Abbas Ghaieb, Susana  AbdulMajid, Elsie de Brauw, Risto Kübar, Johan Leysen, Bert Luppes, Marijke Pinoy
Staging
Milo Rau
Set Design
ruimtevaarders
Dramaturgy
Stefan Bläske
Film
Daniel Demoustier, Moritz von Dungern
Cut
Joris Vertenten
Costume
An De Mol
Light design
Dennis Diels
Composition and arrangement
Saskia Venegas Aernouts

A production of NTGent & Schauspielhaus Bochum
A coproduction with Tandem Arras­Douai.
With the support of Romaeuropa Festival. With the support of the Flemish government and the City of Ghent. This performance was realised with the support granted thanks to the Belgian Tax Shelter system.

  • Zürich-Premiere: 5. October 2019
  • Pfauen
  • Age 16 and above
Data
Wednesday 20.11. 20:00 - 21:40 Pfauen
  • Pay what you want
20Add to Kalendar
  • Carte Blanche
  • Pay what you want
Thursday 21.11. 20:00 - 21:40 Pfauen
Tickets21Add to Kalendar
  • Migros Subscription
Friday 22.11. 20:00 - 21:40 Pfauen
  • Last Show
Tickets22Add to Kalendar

Image gallery & Videos

Orest in Mossul

Inszenierung: Milo Rau & Ensemble

Nach: Aischylos

Milo Rau, künstlerischer Leiter des NTGent, inszeniert Aischylos’ Orestie für die heutige Zeit. Die Idee dazu entstand 2016 während der Recherchearbeiten für seine Produktion Empire im Nordirak an der Kriegsfront mit dem IS. «Es war, als befände man sich gleichzeitig in einer Fernsehszene und in einem klassischen Epos», erklärt Rau. Wie lässt sich die nicht enden wollende Gewaltspirale aufhalten, in der sich die Beteiligten des Bürgerkrieges in Syrien und im Irak sowie ihre westlichen Alliierten befinden? In den ersten beiden Akten von Aischylos’ Orestie scheint es keinen Ausweg zu geben und nur eine vermag der Gewalt schliesslich ein Ende zu setzen: Die Göttin Athene. Sie besänftigt die Rachegöttinnen, indem sie ihnen einen Platz in der Gesellschaft zuteilt – wo der Hass versagt hat, bahnt sich nun die Liebe einen siegreichen Weg.
Gemeinsam mit einem internationalen Ensemble versucht Milo Rau, die antike Pracht der Tragödie zu bewahren und sie zugleich mit aktuellen Konflikten zu verknüpfen. Welche Bedeutung kann der Orestie heute zukommen, in Europa und in Mossul? Als Startschuss und erste Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Schauspielhaus Zürich und dem NTGent ist Orest in Mossul in der Regie von Milo Rau die erste Produktion des NTGent, die am Schauspielhaus Zürich aufgeführt wird.

«Jenseits ihrer Aussichtslosigkeit gehört die neue Uraufführung am Niederländischen Theater zum Wertvollsten, was dem Regisseur in seiner Mission als Bühnen-Moralist je geglückt ist.» (NZZ, 19.4.2019)

Mit Duraid Abbas Ghaieb, Susana  AbdulMajid, Elsie de Brauw, Risto Kübar, Johan Leysen, Bert Luppes, Marijke Pinoy
Inszenierung
Milo Rau
Bühne
ruimtevaarders
Dramaturgie
Stefan Bläske
Film
Daniel Demoustier, Moritz von Dungern
Filmschnitt
Joris Vertenten
Kostüme
An De Mol
Lichtdesign
Dennis Diels
Komposition und Arrangement
Saskia Venegas Aernouts
Audience Developer
Katarina Tereh

Eine Produktion von NTGent & Schauspielhaus Bochum
Eine Koproduktion mit Tandem Arras­Douai.
Mit der Unterstützung von Romaeuropa Festival. Mit Unterstützung der Flämischen Regierung und der Stadt Gent. Diese Inszenierung wurde ermöglicht durch die Unterstützung des Belgian Tax Shelter system.

  • Zürich-Premiere: 5. Oktober 2019
  • Pfauen
  • Empfohlen ab 16 Jahren
Daten
Mi 20.11. 20:00 - 21:40 Pfauen
  • Zahlen, was man will
20Zum Kalender hinzufügen
  • Carte Blanche
  • Zahlen, was man will
Do 21.11. 20:00 - 21:40 Pfauen
Restkarten an der Abendkasse21Zum Kalender hinzufügen
  • Migros-Abo
Fr 22.11. 20:00 - 21:40 Pfauen
  • Letzte Vorstellung
Restkarten an der Abendkasse22Zum Kalender hinzufügen

Bildergalerie & Videos